h1

16 things about me

January 14, 2009

16 things about me

1. I’m a twin. I have a twin brother (fraternal, since I’m a girl) who lives in Washington.

2. I was voted “Studies for Fun” by my high school class. The yearbook generously changed this to “Most Likely To Succeed.”

3. I’m extremely near-sighted and have worn glasses since kindergarten.

4. I’ve known my life direction lay in neuroscience since a 7th grade science report on the human nervous system. This led me to cognitive science (the interdisciplinary study of the mind), post-traumatic stress disorder, and looking at interpersonal trauma’s role in shaping society.

5. I’m a Unitarian Universalist with Buddhist leanings.

6. I don’t currently have a favorite color, but I love deep jewel tones, especially paired with shades of grey and silver.

7. I have always felt safest when nestled up in tree branches, ever since reading books in magnolia trees as a six-year-old.

8. I like to pretend that Joseph Campbell is my dad. If I’m in need of parental advice, I imagine what he’d say.

9. I believe in trying most everything at least twice. Sometimes first experiences don’t give me an accurate idea of whether I like something or not.

10. I haven’t owned a TV in five years. I can watch Netflix DVDs on my laptop, and am rewarded with a lot of free time and minimal advertisements in my life.

11. I haven’t owned a car in five years, either. The money I save on car payments, insurance, gas, and parking goes towards living in an adorable neighborhood where I can walk or ride my bike most places, and I ride public transit in winter.

12. I can’t stand the texture of some foods: sushi, raw onions, water chestnuts.

13. I’m an autodidact (although I recently returned to school), and I love the process of learning (see #2). I am fueled by incredible curiosity about the world and how everything is interrelated and interconnected.

14. Emotional Alchemy: How the Mind Can Heal the Heart by Tara Bennett-Goleman catalyzed my recovery and changed the course of my life and relationships. It’s the one book I keep going back to when I find myself off track. The author combines Buddhist mindfulness meditation with schema therapy (a branch of cognitive therapy) and explains how to make your ingrained emotional patterns and reactions the subject of meditation. “Mindfulness means seeing things as they are without trying to change them,” she writes. “The point is to dissolve our reactions to disturbing emotions, being careful not to reject the emotion itself.”

15. I journal daily. Writing several pages of longhand journal entries each day helps me stay honest and compassionate with myself, and I find that following the tip of the pen on the page is very meditative.

16. My favorite exercise is tire slamming at BodyTribe. See video below. That’s me at 0:29.

 

5 comments

  1. What an inspiring list. I can’t wait to check out the book by TBG. And tire slamming – I could quit going to therapy. That’s awesome!


    • Thanks, Brené! I found your blog through Kelly Rae. I’m really interested in your research and how it may relate to CPTSD and child sexual abuse…I’ll be ordering your book soon.
      Tire slamming has been an important part of recovery for me, it supplements my own therapy visits! My week is incomplete without a little venting. Please let me know what you think of TBG’s book after you’ve looked it over.


  2. That’s a great list!! I find that putting my life into something so categorized and structured helps me to see some things objectively. And that tire thing looks awesome!!


    • Nore, you’re such an important part of my life. Thank you for all of the support and encouragement through the years.


  3. so glad you started this blog where i can read your words….and this list is so good and informative in such great ways!



Leave a Reply

